Jataka Garden Tales

I read an article the other day in the NYT, which, for me, had the message of living in the moment. I thought I was pretty good at that, but after the garden turned negative in the July heat, I realized I was not. So, I’m taking a lesson from a sex-free French woman and starting afresh today and everyday with plant yoga:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

1/2 warrior 🙂 That is my turmeric, unfolded from the neat little spire that emerged a few weeks back. It is growing happily with a ginger leaf that sprouted about 10 days after the turmeric.

Here is a solid love of mine:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bougainvillea, so vibrant my pretty decent camera cannot capture it in full. That’s the kind of life I’d like to live. So I guess I’d better get on the ball! (If you’re interested, find my blog about ecological finance here.)

My burned out jade, reminding me of the samsaric struggle of the past few days:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And the strategy I’m trying with the also heat-addled elderberry:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve surrounded the base with other plants so as to try and reduce some of the elderberry’s heat gain. It makes me think it’s having a community gathering – like Beirut in Thomas Friedman’s book “From Beirut to Jerusalem” – i.e. parties in the wee hours despite the war all around.

And here’s my new family member:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ruellia brittoniana ‘Purple Showers’ stuck in, between the black bamboo and Japanese wintergreen.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I don’t know if I ever said, so I will now: the holes in my lilac’s and rose’s leaves were harmless – leafcutter bees. That was pretty cool to learn about. Most invaluable online resource (one among a few, I should say), is Garden Web. But nothing beats Pasang-la at Van Houten in Union Square! So, yes, I’m back on track with a bit of cheer despite the cold grayness of the sky (it’s actually a welcome change after a heat wave) and the lasting guilt and sadness of killing a thing I nurtured with my tomatoes.

Leave a Reply

