Virgin Territory

Today, I bought my first terrace plants – including mixed and Asian lettuces! But because there is thunderstorm coming tomorrow – and b/c I was told that Mother’s Day marks the start of the no-frost season – I have harbored them inside.

I have never had a garden as an adult – and as a child, I think I started and stopped w/ vegetables around age 9. So, I’m starting from scratch, reading rooftop gardening books, and dreaming of a verdant terrace – hence the name of this blog “Verterrace”. Although.. truth be told, I was also thinking about “verte”, the French word for green, and “vertical”, b/c I’d like to get some height into the endeavor. It’s New York City, after all – how could I not think about building up?

Here’s what the terrace looks like now:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But here’s what’s about to move out there and (hopefully) take over!  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The vision I have in my head is of abundance. And a mix of edibles, aromatics, evergreens, climbers, and scrub. I am particularly excited by the idea of edible flowers. It also sounds nice to attract birds, perhaps install a solar-powered water fountain -or, even better, a thought which just entered my head and which has not been vetted as to difficulty or cost, a solar-powered watering system for days that I’m out of town. For instance, you see the terrace floor is white and the sky open and shade-less. While I was told by the Greenmarket plant seller that my new lettuce will love that, I was also told it might even need water 2 times a day. I wonder if I can set up a rainwater harvester and then solar-powered watering system… Suggestions, anyone?

How about for where to find recyclable/salvagable (i.e. free) and/or sustainable materials to build containers, terracing, shading (w/i the coop rules), trellises, windbreaks, or to reduce noise – there’s a continuous 24×7 exhaust fan for the entire building just on the other side of the chainlink fence…?

2 thoughts on “Virgin Territory

  1. AMAZING SPACE! SOON IT WILL BE FILLED WITH DANCING BUMBLE BEES, FLOWERS, AND COFFEE WITH THE SUNDAY EDITION.

Leave a Reply

